Govt. Regd. No# 27922/060/61
7x24 Support: +9779851065082

Peak Climbing Rules

(Effective 06 August, 1981)

Peak Climbing Rules in exercise of the powers conferred by Government of Nepal, Nepal Mountaineering Association has made the following rules to be observed for the climbing of the peaks of Nepal Himalaya listed in Appendix '1'. These rules will come into force at once.

Definition: -

Where applicable definitions for these rules will be the same as those for Government of Nepal Mountaineering Expedition Regulations 1979 and its first Amendment 1984.


Any person or mountaineering team desirous of climbing the peak listed in Appendix '1' must receive permission from Nepal Mountaineering Association. Application to climb the peak must be made in the form as prescribed in Appendix '2'. Permission to climb the peaks will be granted for a period of one month only. Permission may be extended, if necessary, for another period of two weeks. The period of permission granted relates to time spent for climbing above the base camp. The trek to and from the base camp is not included. Application for climbing permit may be made at any time by the concerned mountaineering team. Permit will be granted on a first come first serve basis. The right to give permission to another party for climbing the same peak during the same period is reserved by Nepal Mountaineering Association. Nepal Mountaineering Association will recommend to Immigration Office of Government of Nepal for obtaining trekking permit of the area to the team members.

Payment of fee:-

Group 'A' Peaks

S.NName of the peakRegionHeightPermit Fee (In US dollars)
Spring Autumn WinterSummer 
1Cholatse PeakKhumbu6423m2501257070
2Kyazo Ri PeakMahalangur6151m2501257070
3Phari LapchaMahalangur6159m2501257070
4Nirekha PeakMahalangur6169m2501257070
5Langsisa RiJugal6412m2501257070
9Lobuje WestKhumbu6135m2501257070
10Larkya PeakManaslu6416m2501257070
12Yubra HimalLangtang Himal6048m2501257070

Group 'B' Peaks 

S.NName of the peakRegionHeight (In Meters)Permit Fee (In Nepali Rupees)
Spring Autumn WinterSummer 
1Hiunchuli Peak Climbing
Annapurna Himal64232501257070
2Singu Chuli (Fluted Peak)Annapurna Himal6501400200100100
3Mera PeakKhumbu Himal64702501257070
4Kusum KangruKhumbu Himal63602501257070
5Kwangde PeakKhumbu Himal60112501257070
6Chulu West PeakManang64192501257070
7Chulu EastManang6584400200100100
8Island Peak (Imja Tse)Khumbu Himal61602501257070
9PharchamoRolwaling Himal61872501257070
10Lobuje East Peak
Khumbu Himal61192501257070
11RamdungRolwaling Himal59252501257070
12Pisang PeakManang60912501257070
13Khongma TseKhumbu Himal58492501257070
14Ganja-la ChuliLangtang Himal58442501257070
15Paldor PeakLangtang Himal58962501257070

As per the decision of secretary-level dated 2014/4/29, the insurance amount for sardar, mountain guide and high altitude walker fund is fixed at Rs 15 lakhs. Similarly, medical insurance has been fixed at Rs 4 lakhs. Mountain heli-rescue of 10,000 USD is also required.        

Note: Maximum number of members in a team is 15.        

Garbage deposit to acquire USD 500. The refund shall be made as per the provisions of NMA. 

Climbers will not have to pay any permit fee for following NMA peaks

S.NName of the PeakHeightRegion
1Tharpu Chuli (Tent Peak)5695mAnnapurna Himal
2Mardi Himal5553mAnnapurna Himal
3Yala Peak5732mLangtang Himal
4Chhukung Ri5833mMahalangur
6Pokhalde5780mKhumbu Himal

Quick Inquiry